Paid Leave Oregon
A new program that allows workers in Oregon to take paid time off for some of life’s most important moments that impact our families, health and safety.
- Family Leave – to care for a family member with a serious illness or injury, or to bond with a new child after birth, adoption or foster care placement.
- Medical Leave – during one’s own serious health condition.
- Safe Leave – for survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, or stalking.
Can I use paid leave benefits if my family is sick or injured?
Yes. You are covered to care for a family member that is sick or injured.
Who is considered my family under the paid leave program?
Any person related by blood or whose relationship with you is like family.
When can I apply for benefits?
How much paid leave can I get?
12 weeks of paid leave per year, plus an additional two weeks for limitations related to pregnancy. You can use paid leave one day at a time or consecutively.
How much money will I get?
Many employees will get 100% of their wages replaced. Your benefit amount is based on your average wage in the previous year. The minimum weekly benefit will be approximately $57, and the maximum weekly benefit will be approximately $1375.
What are the requirements to collect paid leave benefits?
Employees requesting paid leave benefits must have:
➥ Experienced a qualifying event
➥ Completed an application
➥ Earned $1000 in wages in the past year
➥ Contributed to the paid leave trust fund through deductions from their paycheck
When should I notify my employer I intend to take paid leave?
If you know you will need to take paid leave, you must notify your employer in writing at least 30 days before you take leave. If you need to take leave unexpectedly, you must give verbal notice within 24 hours of starting your leave and provide written notice within three days after the start of your leave.
Which employees are covered by paid leave?
Most employees who work in Oregon are covered by the paid leave program. People who are salaried, hourly, full time, part time, or seasonal are all covered.
Which employees are not covered by paid leave? People who are not covered by paid leave are:
➥ Federal employees
➥ Tribal government employees
➥ People who are self-employed or independent contractors
➥ Employees that only work outside of Oregon
If I am not eligible for paid leave coverage, can I choose to join the paid leave program?
Tribal governments may choose to participate in the paid leave program, and their employees will be covered.
People who are self-employed or independent contractors may also choose to join the paid leave program.
How is Oregon’s paid leave program different from Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)?
Below is a summary of some differences between the paid leave program and FMLA/OFLA. Each program has many rules and can be complex. Please work with your human resources representative to determine which program best fits your needs.
|Paid Leave Program||FMLA/OFLA|
|The leave is paid||The leave is unpaid|
Covers Family, Medical, and Safe Leave
|Covers Parental, Serious Health Condition, Pregnancy Disability and Military Family Leave. OFLA also covers Sick Child and Bereavement Leave|
|Leave is provided from all employers||Leave is provided from employers based on how many employees they have (25 for OFLA; 50 for FMLA)|